The Jackpot of Resources!

 

Image

If I thought that I’d found a really good resource in studentsaffairs.com, then I really hit the jackpot when it I found NASPA.org. This website is basically the jackpot of resources when it comes to Student Affairs research. I’ve actually spent quite a lot of time on this website doing research and I think it’s probably one of the best resources out there for people trying to peruse something in student affairs. Not only because it gives you just an enormous amount of information right at your finger tips, but because its easy to use and navigate.

The main page is pleasing to the eye and gives you some basic statistics, which, for me gives me a good sense that this is a good tool to use. Then it has different tabs that let about the website, Events, Research & Policy, Publications, Careers, Constituent Groups and then finally Focus Groups. What I think that I like best about this resourceis that it holds an annual conference, which brings recruiters and schools to the students. Which I found that StudentAfairs.com did not do.

But if your like me and you’re just looking around, they do have a job exchange section that is really easy to understand and use. But my only complaint would be that unlike studentaffairs.com these listings are not hyperlinked so you see that the listing is there but you have to go to the school website on your own and find the qualifications. So I feel for me, they really want you to go to the conference that they hold.

Another great feature of this website is that it allows me to search for schools that offer my program to my specifications, which again is not something that studentaffairs.com had.  You can search under different qualifications like “do you want a GRE score” or “Do you offer scholarships” it even lets you pick whether or not the you want it in a rural area, town, or city and whether or not it’s a small or large school.

All in all when it comes to comparing the two websites, they’re both good in their own way. I think that I will probably use this one to help me narrow down a school in which I want to go, and the other site to see whether I can find  a good job there.

Leave a comment